Department of Mathematics

Patricia Bauman

Math 262-Section 100 Spring 2018


Professor: Patricia Bauman

Office: Math 718
Phone: 494-1945
Email: baumanp@purdue.edu
Office Hours: Monday at 1:30-2:30 pm, Wednesday at 2:00-3:00 pm, or by appointment.


Exams:
Exam 1: Thursday, Feb. 22, 6:30-7:30 pm, in EE 129. Covers Lessons 1-15.
Seating Chart for Exam 1

Exam 2: Thursday, April 5, 6:30-7:30 pm.

Topics Covered:
Mon, Jan. 8: Sections 1.1+1.2 (Lesson 1).
Wed, Jan. 10: Section 1.3 (Lesson 2).
Fri, Jan. 12: Section 1.4+1.5 (Lesson 3)
Mon, Jan. 15: No class (Martin Luther King Day)
Wed, Jan. 17: Section 1.6 (Lesson 4)
Fri, Jan. 19: Section 1.7-1.8 (Lesson 5)
Mon, Jan. 22: Section 1.9 (Lesson 6)
Wed, Jan. 24: Sections 1.11-1.12 (Lesson 7)
Fri, Jan. 26: Sections 2.1-2.2 (Lesson 8)
Mon, Jan. 29: Sections 2.2-2.3 (Lesson 9)
Wed, Jan. 31: Section 2.4 (Lesson 10)
Fri, Feb. 2: Section 2.5 (Lesson 11)
Mon, Feb. 5: Section 2.6 (Lesson 12)
Wed, Feb. 7: Section 3.2 (Lesson 13)
Fri, Feb. 9: Section 3.3(1) (Lesson 14)
Mon, Feb. 12: Section 3.3(2) (Lesson 15)
Wed, Feb. 14: Section 4.2 (Lesson 16)
Fri, Feb. 16: Section 4.3 (Lesson 17)

Next week in lectures:
Mon, Feb. 19: Section 4.4 (Lesson 18)
Wed, Feb. 21: Review for Exam 1 (See location and time for Exam 1 above)
Fri, Feb. 23: Section 4.5 (Lesson 19)

Webassign Homework (online):
Due Thursday, Jan. 11: Lesson 1 (Section 1.1+1.2)
Due Tuesday, Jan. 16: Lesson 2 (Section 1.3).
Due Thursday, Jan. 18: Lesson 3 (Section 1.4+1.5)
Due Tuesday, Jan. 23: Lesson 4 (Section 1.6) and Lesson 5 (Section 1.7+1.8)
Due Thursday, Jan. 25: Lesson 6 (Section 1.9)
Due Tuesday, Jan. 30: Lessons 7 and 8 (Sections 1.11 + 1.12, 2.1 + 2.2)
Due Thursday, Feb. 1: Lesson 9 (Sections 2.2 + 2.3)
Due Tuesday, Feb. 6: Lessons 10 and Lesson 11 (Sections 2.4 and 2.5)
Due Thursday, Feb. 8: Lesson 12 (Sections 2.5 and 2.6)
Due Tuesday, Feb. 13: Lessons 13 and 14 (Sections 3.2 and 3.3(1))
Due Thursday, Feb. 15: Lesson 15 (Section 3.3(2))
Due Tuesday, Feb. 20: Lessons 16 and 17 (Sections 4.2 and 4.3)
Thursday, Feb. 22: No homework is due (Review for Exam 1)
Due Tuesday, Feb. 27: Lessons 18 and 19 (Sections 4.4 and 4.5)

Hand-graded Homework Assignments(Turn them in in Recitation class):
1.) Due Thursday, Jan. 11: Lesson 1: Page 19, #24
2.) Due Thursday, Jan. 18: Lesson 2+3: Page 30,#14 and P. 41,#23.
3.) Due Thursday, Jan. 25: Lesson 4+5: Page 56, #25, p. 66: #7, and p. 77, #56,61.
4.) Due Thursday, Feb. 1: Lessons 6+7+8: Page 89,#30,31, p.104,#16, p.109,#46, p. 119,#27, and p. 132, #34.
5.) Due Thursday, Feb. 8: Lessons 9+10+11: Page 131,#18, p.139,#11, p.149, #11,13, p. 160,#23.
6.) Due Thursday, Feb. 15: Lessons 12+13+14+15: Page 160,#26,47, p. 171,#26, p.211,#43,54, p. 223,#20,21. p. 223:#32,44.
No quiz and no homework due in recitation on Thursday, Feb. 22. Review for Exam 1 in recitation.

Quizzes (in Recitation):
Quiz 1: Thursday, Jan. 11, on Lesson 1 (Sections 1.1+1.2).
Quiz 2: Thursday, Jan. 18, on Lesson 2 and 3 (Sections 1.3, 1.4, 1.5).
Quiz 3: Thursday, Jan. 25, on Lesson 4 and 5 (Sections 1.6, 1.7, 1.8).
Quiz 4: Thursday, Feb. 1, on Lessons 6, 7 and 8 (Sections 1.9, 1.11 + 1.12, 2.1 + 2.2).
Quiz 5: Thursday, Feb. 8, on Lessons 9, 10 and 11 (Sections 2.2+2.3, 2.4, 2.5)
Quiz 6: Thursday, Feb. 15, on Lessons 12, 13, 14, 15 (Sections 2.5+2.6, 3.2, 3.3)
Thursday, Feb. 22: Review for exam 1 in recitation. No homework due, no quiz.
(Location and time of Exam 1 is listed under Exams above.)





Home || Courses || Preprints || Publications