Department of Mathematics

Patricia Bauman

Math 262-Sections 200 and 500 Spring 2019


Professor: Patricia Bauman

Office: Math 718
Phone: 494-1945
Email: baumanp@purdue.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday at 1:30-2:20 pm, Wednesday at 10:15-11:15 am, or by appointment.

Exams:
Exam 1: Monday, Feb. 18 at 6:30-7:30 pm in EE 129. Covers Lessons 1-12.
Exam 2: Monday, Apr. 8 at 6:30-7:30 pm in Lily 1105. Covers Lessons 13-29. Seating Chart for Exam 2
Final Exam: Wednesday, May 1, 3:30-5:30 pm in Loeb Main Floor - STEW 183. Covers all Lessons. Seating Chart for Final Exam



Online homework is in MyMathLab on Blackboard--The URL is: https://mycourses.purdue.edu. Here are simple instructions for logging in from Purdue:
1.) Log on to Blackboard using your Purdue career account and password from the link mycourses.purdue.edu
2.) Select your recitation section in MA 262
3.) Click on MyMathLab
4.) Create a Pearson's account and you will get to the page in the attachment.
5.) Either purchase the access code or click the button "get temporary access without payment for 14 days." You will need to purchase an access code and e-text or a book with an access code within the first two weeks of class.


Useful Links:
MA 26200 Spring 2019 Course webpage for all Sections:
http://www.math.purdue.edu/academic/courses/MA26200/


MyMathLab Student Contact Information for Pearson

Instructions on how to view past online homework in MyMathLab:
To review your past online homework problems, go to Gradebook in MyMathLab, display past homework, and choose Review.

Topics Covered in Lecture :
Mon, Jan. 7: Sec. 1.1, most of Sec. 1.2 in Lesson 1.
Wed, Jan. 9: Sec. 1.2 and 1.3 in Lesson 1.
Fri, Jan. 11: Sec. 2.1 and 2.2 in Lesson 2.
Mon, Jan. 14: Sec. 2.3 in Lesson 3 and an intro to Sec. 2.4 in Lesson 4.
Wed, Jan. 16: Sec. 2.4 in Lesson 4 and part of Sec. 2.6 in Lesson 5.
Fri, Jan. 18: Sec. 2.6 in Lesson 5 and part of Sec. 3.4 in Lesson 6.
Mon, Jan. 21: No class (Martin Luther King Day)
Wed. Jan. 23: Sec. 3.4 and Mixing Problems in Lesson 6 and part of Sec. 7.1 in Lesson 7.
Fri, Jan. 25: Sec. 7.1 and part of Sec. 7.2 in Lesson 7.
Mon, Jan. 28: Sec. 7.2 in Lesson 7 and part of Sec. 7.3 in Lesson 8.
Wed, Jan. 30: All classes canceled due to the weather.
Fri, Feb. 1: Sec. 7.3 and 7.4 in Lesson 8.
Mon, Feb. 4: Sec. 7.5 and 7.7 in Lesson 9.
Wed, Feb. 6: Sec. 7.8 in Lesson 10.
Fri, Feb. 8: Sec. 7.9 in Lesson 10 and Sec. 8.1 in Lesson 11.
Mon, Feb. 10: Sec. 8.2 in Lesson 12.
Wed, Feb. 12: Sec. 9.1 in Lesson 13.
Fri, Feb. 14: Review for Exam 1.
Mon, Feb. 18: Sec. 9.2 in Lesson 13 and part of Sec. 9.3 in Lesson 14.
Wed, Feb. 20: Sec. 9.3 in Lesson 14 and part of Sec. 10.1 in Lesson 15.
Fri, Feb. 22: Sec. 10.1 in Lesson 15 and most of Sec. 10.2 in Lesson 16.
Mon, Feb. 25: Sec. 10.2 in Lesson 16 and part of Sec. 10.3 in Lesson 17.
Wed, Feb. 27: Sec. 10.3 in Lesson 17 and part of Sec. 10.5 in Lesson 18.
Fri, Mar. 1: Sec. 10.5 in Lesson 18 and part of Sec. 10.6 in Lesson 19.
Mon, Mar. 4: Sec. 10.6 in Lesson 19 and part of Sec. 11.1 in Lesson 20.
Wed, Mar. 6: Sec. 11.1 in Lesson 20 and Sec. 11.2 in Lesson 21.
Fri, Mar. 8: no class (due to night exam on April 8).
Mon, Mar. 11-Fri, Mar. 16 - no class (Spring Break)
Mon, Mar. 18: Sec. 11.5 in Lesson 22.
Wed, Mar. 20: Sec. 4.1 and 4.2 in Lesson 23.
Fri, Mar. 22: Sec. 4.3 (Lesson 24).
Mon, Mar. 25: Sec. 4.3 (Lesson 24) and Sec. 4.4 (Lesson 25).
Wed, Mar. 27: Sec. 4.4 (Lesson 25) and part of Sec. 4.5 (Lesson 26).
Fri, Mar. 29: Sec. 4.5 (Lesson 26) and 4.6 (Lesson 27).
Mon, Apr. 1: Sec. 4.7 (Lesson 28).
Wed, Apr. 3: Sec. 4.9 (Lesson 29.
Fri, Apr. 5: Review for Exam 2.
Mon, Apr 8: Sec. 5.1 (Lesson 30).
Wed, Apr. 10: Sec. 5.2 (Lesson 31).
Fri, Apr. 12: Sec. 5.3 (Lesson 32).
Mon, Apr. 15: Sec. 5.4 (Lesson 32) and Sec. 6.1,6.4 (Lesson 33).
Wed, Apr. 17: Sec. 6.4 (Lesson 33) and Sec. 6.5 (Lesson 34).
Fri, Apr. 19: Sec. 6.6 (Lesson 35).
Mon, Apr. 22: Sec. 6.7 (Lesson 36).
Wed, Apr. 24: Review for Final Exam.
Fri, Apr. 26: Review for Final Exam.
Wed, May 1: Final Exam, 3:30-5:30 pm, Loeb-Main Floor in Stewart Center 183.

Online Homework Assignments (to be submitted in MyMathLab in Blackboard):
Due Tuesday, Jan. 15: Lesson 1 (Section 1.1 ,1.2, 1.3) and Lesson 2 (Sec. 2.1, 2.2).
Due Thursday, Jan. 17: Lesson 3 (Sec. 2.3).
Due Tuesday, Jan. 22: Lesson 4 (Sec. 2.4) and Lesson 5 (Sec. 2.6).
Due Tuesday, Jan. 29: Lesson 6 (Sec. 3.4)
Due Thursday, Jan. 31: Lesson 7 (Sec. 7.1 and 7.2).
Due Tuesday, Feb. 5: Lesson 8 (Sec. 7.1 and 7.2).
Due Thursday, Feb. 7: Lesson 9 (Sec. 7.5 and 7.7).
Due Wednesday, Feb. 13: Lesson 10 (Sec. 7.8 and 7.9) and Lesson 11 (Sec. 8.1)
Due Thursday, Feb. 14: Lesson 12 (Sec. 8.2).
Due Thursday, Feb. 21: Lesson 13 (Sec. 9.1 and 9.2).
Due Tuesday, Feb. 26: Lesson 14 (Sec. 9.3) and Lesson 15 (Sec. 10.1).
Due Thursday, Feb. 28: lesson 16 (Sec. 10.2).
Due Tuesday, Mar. 5: Lesson 17 (Sec. 10.3) and Lesson 18 (Sec. 10.5).
Due Thursday, Mar. 7: Lesson 19 (Sec. 10.6).
Due Tuesday, Mar. 19: Lesson 20 (Sec. 11.1) and Lesson 21 (Sec. 11.2).
Due Thursday, Mar. 21: Lesson 22 (Sec. 11.5).
Due Tuesday, Mar. 26: Lesson 23 (Sec. 4.1 and 4.2).
Due Thursday, Mar. 28: Lesson 24 (Sec. 4.3).
Due Tuesday, Apr. 2: Lesson 25 (Sec. 4.4), Lesson 26 (Sec. 4.5) and Lesson 27 (Sec. 4.6).
Due Thursday, Apr. 4: Lesson 28 (Sec. 4.7)
Due Saturday, Apr. 6: Lesson 29 (Sec. 4.9)
Due Thursday, Apr. 11: Lesson 30 (Sec. 5.1)
Due Tuesday, Apr. 16: Lesson 31 (Sec. 5.2).

Due Thursday, Apr. 18: Lesson 32 (Sec. 5.3 and 5.4).
Due Tuesday, Apr. 23.: Lesson 33 (Sec. 6.1, 6.4), Lesson 34 (Sec. 6.5), and Lesson 35 (Sec. 6.6).
Due Thursday, Apr. 25: Lesson 36 (Sec. 6.7).


Hand-written Homework Assignments (Each of these should be be DONE ON PAPER and SUBMITTED IN RECITATION CLASS):
Due Thursday, Jan. 17: HG-HW 1: Sec. 1.2, p. 13, #3,18; Sec. 1.3, p. 21, #1,2.
Due Thursday, Jan. 17: HG-HW 2: Sec. 2.2, p. 51: #31,34.
Due Thursday, Jan. 17: HG-HW 3: Sec. 2.3, p. 58: #23,25(a),30.
Due Thursday, Jan. 24: HG-HW 4: Sec. 2.4, p. 68, #15,29.
Due Thursday, Jan. 24: HG-HW 5: Special Project F, p. 89.
Due Thursday, Jan 31: HG-HW 6: Sec. 3.4: p. 123, #1,2; Sec. 2.3, p. 60, #35(a).
Due Thursday, Jan. 31: HG-HW 7: Sec. 7.1, p. 369, #28,30; Sec. 7.2, p. 380, #23,31.
Due Thursday, Feb. 7: HG-HW 8: Sec. 7.3, p. 391, #28; Sec. 7.4, p. 400, #36.
Due Thursday, Feb. 7: HG-HW 9: Sec. 7.5, p. 407, #38; Sec. 7.7, p. 420, #14,40.
Due Thursday, Feb. 14: HG-HW 10: Sec. 7.8, p. 428, #23; Sec. 7.9, p. 437, #12.
Due Thursday, Feb. 14: HG-HW 11: Sec. 8.1, p. 466, #11,15
Due Thursday, Feb. 14: HG-HW 12: Sec. 8.2, p. 476, #38.
Due Thursday, Feb. 21: HG-HW 13: Sec. 9.1, p. 539, #3,14; Sec. 9.2, p. 548, #29.
Due Thursday, Feb. 28: HG-HW 14: Sec. 9.3, p. 557, #32.
Due Thursday, Feb. 28: HG-HG 15: Sec. 10.1, p. 571, #33.
Due Thursday, Feb. 28: HG-HW 16: Sec. 10.2, p. 581, #31.
Due Thursday, Mar. 7: HG-HW 17: Sec. 10.3, p. 588, #22,23.
Due Thursday, Mar. 7: HG-HW 18: Sec. 10.5, p. 603, #20,27.
Due Thursday, Mar. 7: HG-HW 19: Sec. 10.6, p. 610, #16,23.
Due Thursday, Mar. 21: HG-HW 20: Sec. 11.1, p. 654, #23,24.
Due Thursday, Mar. 21: HG-HW 21: Sec. 11.2, p. 662, #25.
Due Thursday, Mar. 28: HG-HW 22: Sec. 11.5, p. 683, #24.
Due Thursday, Mar. 28: HG-HW 23: Sec. 4.2, p. 176, #34.
Due Thursday, Mar. 28: HG-HW 24: Sec. 4.3, p. 185, #33.
Due Thursday, Apr. 4: HG-HW 25: Sec. 4.4, p. 192, #35,36.
Due Thursday, Apr. 4: HG-HW 26: Sec. 4.5, p. 198, #41.
Due Thursday, Apr. 4: HG-HW 27: Sec. 4.6, p. 203, #20,22.
Due Thursday, Apr. 4: HG-HW 28: Sec. 4.7, p. 212, #37,41.
Due Thursday, Apr. 11: HG-HW 30: Sec. 5.1, p. 264, #24,27.
Due Thursday, Apr. 18: HG-HW 31: Sec. 5.2, p. 270, #20,21.
Due Thursday, Apr. 18: HG-HW 32: Sec. 5.3, p. 275, #33.
Due Thursday, Apr. 25: HG-HW 33: Sec. 6.4, p. 316, #29,30.
Due Thursday, Apr. 25: HG-HW 34: Sec. 6.5, p. 326, #37.
Due Thursday, Apr. 25: HG-HW 35: Sec. 6.6, p. 332, #21.
Due Thursday, Apr. 25: HG-HW 36: Sec. 6.7, p. 338, #33.

Quizzes (in Recitation):
Quiz 1: Thursday, Jan. 17 on Lessons 1 and 2.
#24,27. Quiz 2: Thursday, Jan. 24 on Lessons 3 and 4.
Quiz 3: Thursday, Jan. 31, on Lessons 5, 6 and 7.
Quiz 4: Thursday, Feb. 7, on Lessons 8 and 9.
Quiz 5: Thursday, Feb. 14, on Lessons 10, 11 and 12.
No quiz on Thursday, Feb. 21.
Quiz 6: Thursday, Feb. 28, on Lessons 13, 14, and 15.
Quiz 7: Thursday, Mar. 7, on Lessons 16, 17, 18.
Quiz 8: Thursday, Mar. 21, on Lessons 19, 20, 21.
Quiz 9: Thursday, Mar. 28, on Lessons 22, 23, 24.
No quiz on Thursday, Apr. 4. TA's will discuss homework problems due on 4/4 and possibly other problems as preparation for the exam on Monday, 4/8.
Quiz 10: Thursday, April 11, on Lesson 30.
Quiz 11: Thursday, April 18, on Lessons 31 and 32.





Home || Courses || Preprints || Publications