Math 55300 001 22179: Spring 2017
Abstract Algebra

Syllabus


Textbook Abstract Algebra Third Edition,

by David S. Dummit and Richard M. Foote ISBN # 0-471-43334-9.

Lectures Lectures: MWF 3:30 pm-4:20 pm, MA 215.

Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday 3:30 - 4:30 pm, Room 636 Math. Sci.

Grader for HW Matthew Toeniskoetter e-mail: mtoenisk@purdue.edu

Test 1

In class on Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Test 2

Tentative: In class on Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Final Exam

Tuesday, May 2, 2017 from 3:30 - 5:30 pm in MATH 215

Topics to be covered: Group theory: Sylow theorems, Jordan-Holder theorem, solvable groups. Ring theory, unique factorization in polynomial rings and principal ideal domains. Field theory: roots of unity, finite fields, Galois theory, solvability of equations by radicals.

Assignments

Tentative list

Assignment 1 To be handed in Friday, January 13, 2017

page 106 , exercises 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10.

Assignment 2 To be handed in Friday, January 20, 2017

page 111, exercises 4, 5, 10, 12, 13.

page 116, exercises 1, 2, 3.

Assignment 3 To be handed in Friday, January 27, 2017

page 117, exercises 7, 8.

page 122, exercises 11, 12, 13.

page 130, exercises 2, 5, 11, 13.

Assignment 4 To be handed in Friday, February 3, 2017

pages 131-132, exercises 19, 20, 22, 30

page 137, exercises 2, 6, 7, 8.

pages 146 - 147, exercises 6, 7, 8, 9, 13, 17, 26.

Assignment 5 To be handed in Friday, February 10, 2017

pages 147 - 148, exercises 30, 32, 33, 37, 40.

pages 231 - 232, exercises 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 21, 22, 26.

page 238, exercises 2, 3 b, c, 4, 5.

Assignment 6 To be handed in Friday, February 17, 2014

Section 7.3, pages 248 - 250, exercises 4, 8, 10, 15, 26, 27, 28,29. 33,

Section 7.4, pages 256 - 259, exercises 7, 8, 10, 11, 19, 23, 24, 26, 27, 28, 30, 31, 32.

Assignment 7 To be handed in Friday, February 24, 2014

pages 267 - 268, exercises 5a, 7,

pages 278 - 279, exercises 3, 6, 10, 11,

pages 282 - 283, exercises 1, 2, 5, 6, 7a,b.

Assignment 8 To be handed in Friday, March 3, 2017

pages 293 - 294, exercises 2, 6, 7, 8, 11,

pages 298, exercises 4, 5, 6, 7,

page 301, exercises 4, 5, 6, 7.

Assignment 9 To be handed in Friday, March 24, 2017

page 306, exercises 1, 2, 3.

pages 311 - 312, exercises 3, 4, 5, 17,

page 315, 1,3, 4, 6.

Assignment 10 To be handed in Friday, March 31, 2017

page 519, exercises 3, 5, 6,

page 530, exercises 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18.

Assignment 11 To be handed in Friday, April 7, 2017

page 545, exercises 1, 5, 6,

page 551, exercises 3, 4, 5.

page 555-556, exercises 1, 2, 5, 10.

Assignment 12 To be handed in Friday, April 14, 2017

page 567, exercises 4, 6, 8, 9,

pages 581 - 582, exercises 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9.

Assignment 13 To be handed in Friday, April 21, 201

pages 582 - 583, exercises 17, 18, 19,

page 589, exercises 1, 7, 8, 10,

pages 595 - 596, exercises 1, 2, 4, 5, 6.

page 603, exercise 10.

Assignment 14 Not to be handed in.

page 617, exercise 11.

page 636, exercises 4, 5.

page 654, exercises 12, 13.


[ Home Page ] [ Curriculum Vitae ] [ Teaching ] [ Contact Informations] [ Send me an e-mail ]