Math 554:
Linear Algebra

Syllabus


Textbook Linear Algebra Second Edition,

by Kenneth Hoffman and Ray Kunze ISBN # 0-13-536797-2.

Lectures Lectures: MWF 11:30 am-12:20 pm, UNIV 317.

Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday 3:30 - 4:30 pm, Room 636 Math. Sci.

Grader for HW Feng Hao

e-mail: fhao@purdue.edu

Test 1 in class Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Test 2 in class Wednesday November 30, 2016

Final Exam Tuesday, Dec. 13, 7:00 - 9:00 pm in HAAS G066.

Assignments

tentative

Assignment 1 To be handed in Friday, August 26

page 11, exercise 7,

page 16, exercises 5, 8,

page 21, exercises 3, 4, 8,

pages 26-27, exercises 4, 10.

Assignment 2 To be handed in Friday, Sept. 2

page 40, exercises 5, 7, 8, 9,

pages 48-49, exercises 7, 8, 9, 13,

page 55, exercise 3, 7.

Assignment 3 To be handed in Friday, Sept. 9

page 66, exercises 3, 7.

pages 73-74, exercises 1, 3, 4, 5, 12, 13,

pages 83-84, exercises 3, 4, 7, 8, 11.

Assignment 4 to be handed in Friday, Sept. 16

pages 95-96, exercises 3, 5, 6, 10, 12,

pages 105-107, exercises 3, 5, 9, 12, 14, 17,

pages 111, exercise 3,

Assignment 5 to be handed in Friday, Sept. 23

pages 115-116, exercises 1,3, 4, 5, 6,

page 123, exercises 2, 3, 7, 8,

pages 126-127, exercises 1, 6,

page 134, exercise 4,

Assignment 6 to be handed in Friday, Sept. 30

page 139, exercises 2, 3,

pages 148-149, exercises 1, 6, 12,

pages 155-156, exercises 3, 4, 7, 8, 11,

Use the scalar c of exercise 11 as the definition of the determinant of a linear operator.

pages 162-164, exercises 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 14.

Assignment 7 to be handed in Friday, Oct. 7

page 190, exercises 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15.

page 198, exercises 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11,

Assignment 8 to be handed in Friday, Oct. 14

pages 205-206, exercises 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13,

page 208, exercises 1, 2, 3, 5.

Assignment 9 to be handed in Friday, Oct. 28

page 213, exercises 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10,

pages 218-219, exercises 3, 4, 8.

Assignment 10 to be handed in Friday, Nov. 4

pages 225-226, exercises 2 through 11,

pages 230-231, exercises 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8.

Assignment 11 to be handed in Friday, Nov. 11

Exercises from Jacobson Basic Algebra I, Sections 3.6 - 3.10 on the hand-out sheet

Assignment 12 to be handed in Friday, Nov. 18

pages 241-244, exercises 1, 2, 3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21,

pages 250-251, exercises 8, 10.

Assignment 13 Not to be handed in.

pages 298 - 299, exercises 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12,

pages 317-318, exercises 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14.

Assignment 14


[ Home Page ] [ Curriculum Vitae ] [ Teaching ] [ Contact Informations] [ Send me an e-mail ]