Department Hosts Lipman-Fest: A Conference in Honor of the 65th Birthday of Joseph Lipman



Joe Lipman (second row, fourth from left) outside the Math Building with his many colleagues and friends.

recent conference in honor of Joseph Lipman on the occasion of his 65th birthday celebrated his groundbreaking contributions to both commutative algebra and algebraic geometry.

The Midwest Commutative Algebra and Geometry Meeting was held at Purdue May 17-21, 2004. The themes of the conference were loosely grouped around Lipman's research interests: resolution of singularities, singularity theory, Rees algebras and Briançon-Skoda theorems, and duality theory and homological algebra.

Organized by William Heinzer, Craig Huneke, and Bernd Ulrich, the conference continued a tradition of commutative algebra and algebraic geometry meetings in the Midwest. NSF, MSRI, and Purdue provided support.



Joseph Lipman

Joseph Lipman has made important contributions to both algebraic geometry and commutative algebra. He has 51 publications, including *Collected Papers of Joseph Lipman* in two volumes (622 pp. and 905 pp.) published by Queens University Press, Kingston, Ontario, 2000.

Lipman received his B.A. from the University of Toronto in 1960 and his Ph.D. from Harvard in 1965. Oscar Zariski was his advisor.

He came to Purdue in 1966 as an assistant professor and was promoted to associate professor in 1968 and to professor in 1972. He has held visiting positions at Columbia, Harvard, Cambridge, Nice, and MSRI.

At Purdue, Lipman has supervised 13 Ph.D. students. He served as Acting Department Head in 1984-85 and as Head 1987-92. He has also

performed extensive service to the larger profession, serving on organizing committees for Oberwolfach meetings, on various AMS committees, including the Rochester Task Force in 1996, and on the editorial board of a research text in tribute to Oscar Zariski.

Lipman has played a major role in guiding the development of algebraic geometry and commutative algebra at Purdue for more than 30 years. Our department's continued strength in both subjects is a testimonial to his good sense and sound professional judgment.

List of Conference Speakers

Leo Alonso	I-Chiau Huang
Donu Arapura	Steven Kleiman
Michael Artin	Gennady Lyubeznik
Luchezar Avramov	Juan Migliore
Chunsheng Ban	Uwe Nagel
Edward Bierstone	Suresh Nayak
Ragnar Buchweitz	Claudia Polini
Antonio Campillo	Paul Roberts
Brian Conrad	Pramathanath Sastry
Alberto Corso	Bernard Teissier
Steven Dale Cutkosky	Wolmer Vasconcelos
Sankar Dutta	Orlando Villamayor
David Eisenbud	Jonathan Wahl
Hubert Flenner	Ulrich Walther
Robin Hartshorne	Keiichi Watanabe
Herwig Hauser	Jaroslaw Wlodarczyk
Melvin Hochster	