MA 266 Ordinary Differential Equations


Textbook

Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (10th Edition) by Boyce and DiPrima

Schedule

Section 155: MWF 11:30 am - 12:20 pm in Universty Hall 117.

The Syllabus of MA 266

Assignment Sheet

Webpages

Linear Algebra

Midterm Exams

Exam 1 (8:00pm - 9:00pm, March 7,2018(Wed) ) in BRNG 2280: Sec 1.1 through Sec ?

-- Practice test 1

Exam 2 ( )

-- Practice test 2

-- Table and formulas of Laplace transform

Final Exams

( ) --

-- A sample problems for the final exam

Projects

I will collect your projects in class.

Project 1 (due to March 9): -- project 1

Project 2 (due to April 8): -- project 2

Project 3 (due to April 26 (Tue)): -- project 3

Power point slides

Hand-graded Homeworks

HW 1 (due to Jan 22, Mon): (Sec 1.1) 2, 5; (Sec 1.3) 8, 11; (S.P.) A;

HW 2 (due to Jan 26, Fri): (Sec 2.1) 3, 24; (Sec 2.2) 11, 14, 28, 36; (S.P.) B, C;

HW 3 (due to Feb 2, Fri): (Sec 2.3) 1, 2, 16, 21, 22, 29; (Sec 2.2) 32 (b), 36 (b); (S.P.) D;

HW 4 (due to Feb 9, Fri): (Sec 2.4) 17, 22 (a), (b); (Sec 2.5) 4, 22; (S.P.) E, F;

HW 5 (due to Feb 16, Fri): (Sec 2.6) 18; (Sec 2.7) 20 (a) (b) (d); (S.P.) G, H, I;

HW 6 (due to March 6, Fri): (Sec 3.1) 19, 22; (Sec 3.2) 13, 14, 25; (Sec 3.3) 17, 23;

HW 7 (due to March 13, Fri): (Sec 3.4) 15, 25; (Sec 3.5) 15, 21a, 22a;

HW 8 (due to March 25, Fri): (Sec 3.6) 15; (Sec 3.7) 9, 28; (Supplementary) J;

HW 9 (due to April 1, Fri): (Sec 3.8) 7;

(1) Find the solution of y^(4) - y = 0; y(0) = 7/2, y'(0) = -4, y"(0) = 5/2, y^(3)(0) = -15/8;

(2) Find the solution of r^2 = -i

HW 10 (due to April 8, Fri): (Sec 6.1) 5b, 8, 15; (Sec 6.2) 10, 21; (Supplementary) K;

(1) Set up a particular solution of y^(3) - y' = t e^t

HW 11 (due to April 22, Fri): (Sec 6.3) 1, 2, 18, 21, 23; (Sec 6.5) 14 a,b; (Sec 6.6) 4, 5; (Supplementary) L;

HW 12 ( ): (Sec 7.2) 22, 23; (Sec 7.3) 17, 20; (Sec 7.5) 1, 4; (Sec 7.6) 2, 6; (Supplementary) M, N, O, P;