Fall 2016, problem 26

Let $x_i\ge -1$ and $\sum^n_{i=1}x_i^3=0$. Show that $\sum^n_{i=1}x_i \le \frac{n}{3}$.

Comments

DrHansZimmermann
5 years ago

Hello, I am a german mathematical physicist m.sc, ph.d Cambridge University. Hans R. Zimmermann

My solution is very simple. :

1. substitute $z_i = x_i + 1$

2. The summation reads now as: $\sum_{i=1}^n ( z_i^3 - 3z_i^2 + 3z_i - 1 ) = 0$

3. So we have a polynomial of degree 3 and $\sum_{i=1}^n$ stands for summation from 1 to n . We now bring the -1 in the bracket to the right side and factor $z_i$ in the polynomial expression on the left. This leaves us with

$\sum_{i=1}^n (z_i(z_i^2 -3z_i + 3))= n$

4. We observe that a quadratic in z appears which is factored by z. The quadratic has a minimum value of 3/4 at its vertex. It follows that the expressun is aleays larger then $\sum_{i=1}^n \frac{3z_i}{4}$. Substituting again $z_i$ by $x_i+1$ leads to the unequality which we had to prove.

$\sum_{i=1}^n x_i \le \frac{n}{3}$

I enjoy to contribute in honor of your founder.

EDIT: Moderator added in latex to make the answer easier to read.

Sorry, but my proof is perfectly valid. I used the substituion Z = X + 1. Go through my proof step by step. If I have an email I can send my writing. Regards, H. Zimmermann

DrHansZimmermann 5 years ago

I had a third solution based on splitting the x's into negative and nonnegative sets and using the convexity of x^3 but it is not worth detailing here because HRZ solution is simply brilliant !

Michel 5 years ago

The main reason we do not see more elegant solutions like the solution of HRZ is that the potential contributors are bound to enter LaTeX by hand. Is there a way to post a PDF or TIFF or a link to them ?

rubs 5 years ago