Skip to main content

Outstanding undergraduate and graduate students recognized


The Department of Mathematics recognized the acheivements of our undergraduate and graduate students in a ceremony on Wednesday, April 28.

The following awards were presented:

Kun-Chieh Wang is the Michael Golomb Math Award recipient for this year. This award goes to the outstanding senior in the Department of Mathematics each year.

Justin Chen was given the Eugene V. Schenkman Memorial Award which goes to the best algebra student of the year.

Brent Woodhouse received the Jerison Memorial Award in Analysis which honors the best analysis undergraduate student of the year.

Daniel Stratman and Kristen Ziegler received the Glen E. Baxter Memorial Award for outstanding seniors with interests in probability and statistics.

Jason Nikowitz, Joshua Rendall and Catherine Warner were recognized as outstanding students in the area of mathematics education with the Merrill E. Shanks Memorial Award.

Philip Hebda and Kun-Chieh Wang received the Senior Achievement Award.

The following scholarships were also presented.

Thomas Arai Scholarship: YiYan Tang; Leonard D. & Anna W. Berkovitz Scholarship: Remy Spoentgen; Mark Hoppy Memorial Scholar: Robert Glasser; Andris A. Zoltners Scholar: Jeremy Cunningham; Helen Clark Wight Scholars: Megan Giordano, Mark Knight and Kristina Rubiano; and the Virginia Mashin Scholars: Christopher Barbour, Justin Chen, Uuriintsolmon Ganbold, Benito Martinez, Stephanie Miller and Mary Vaught.

The following students were recognized for solving Problem of the Week problems:

Yixin Wang received the First Prize in Spring 2010. Kilian Cooley received the First Prize for in Fall 2009 and Second Prize in Spring 2010.

Kun-Chieh Wang received the Second Prize in Fall 2009. The Third Prize in Fall 2009 was given to Clara Bennett, Andy Bohn, Arytom Melanich, Brent Woodhouse.

Certificates of merit for Spring 2010 were given to undergraduates Eric Haengel, Abram Magner, Kevin Townsend and graduate students Richard Eden, Rodrigo Ferraz de Andrade, Gabriel Sosa and Tairan Yuwen.

Certificates of merit for Fall 2009 were given to undergraduates David Elden and graduates Richard Eden, Rodrigo Ferraz de Andrade, Vitezslav Kala, Xin-A Li, Andy Newell, Benjamin Phillabaum, Sohei Yasuda, Tairan Yuwen.

The following graduate students were recognized.

Agnid Banerjee received the Gerald R. MacLane Award.

Douglas Babcock, Dustin Belt, Richard Eden, Eduardo Garcia, Stacy Wohead were recognized for receiving the 2009-2010 Outstanding Teaching Assistants award.

The Committee for the Education of Teaching Assistants (CETA) – Celebrate Graduate Student Teaching has recognized Douglas Babcock, Dustin Belt, Richard Eden and Stacy Wohead.

Andrea Rubiano and Huanren Zhang have completed the CETA Certificate Program.

The following fellowships were awarded to incoming graduate students.

Andrews Fellowship: Bryan Crist; Carl Cowen Exceptional Promise Award: Kassandra Johnson; T. T. Moh Fellowship: Cuiyu He and Yingwei Wang; Ross Fellowships: Taylor Hines, Paul Kepley, Christina Lorenzo and Matthew Toeniskoetter; Zoltners Graduate Scholarship: Paul Kepley, Brian Moehring, Michael Perlmutter, Matthew Toeniskoetter.

The Department also recognized students for their achievements this year.

Justin Chen, Johnson Chu, Eric Haengel and Daniel Stratman were recognized as inductees into Pi Mu Epsilon, the National Honorary Mathematics Society.

Kun-Chieh Wang and Daniel Stratman were recognized for taking the Putnam Exam.

The College of Science also recognized outstanding mathematics and actuarial science students.

College of Science Outstanding Seniors: Michael Burkhart, Philip Hebda, Elizabeth Moss and Trent Sahlin; Outstanding Juniors: Chris Bairnsfather and Yanyan Ma; Outstanding Sophomores: Kelli Chupp and Eric Haengel; Outstanding Freshmen: Brent Woodhouse and Lifan Wu.

Correction notice: Kristen Ziegler's name was misspelled in the original list.

Department of Mathematics, Purdue University, 150 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2067

Phone: (765) 494-1901 - FAX: (765) 494-0548  Contact Us

© 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.

Maintained by Science IT