Skip to main content

2023-2024 Joel S. Spira Faculty Teaching Awards


The Joel S. Spira Faculty Teaching Awards recognize excellence in mathematics teaching. These awards are made possible by a generous donation by Purdue alumni, Ruth and Joel Spira, founders of the Lutron Electronics Company. The 2023-24 Spira Teaching Awards were presented at the April 25th meeting of the mathematics faculty.

Congratulations to the recipients:
  • Isaac Harris: Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring
  • Sally Ray: Excellence in Teaching Actuarial Science Courses
  • Margaret Thomas: Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Alexandria Volkening: Excellence in Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching




Department of Mathematics, Purdue University, 150 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2067

Phone: (765) 494-1901 - FAX: (765) 494-0548  Contact Us

© 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.

Maintained by Science IT