Skip to main content

2012 Ruth and Joel Spira Teaching Awards


Joel Spira, Purdue alumnus and founder of Lutron Electronics, established an endowment in 2007 to provide faculty teaching awards. The Mathematics Department is pleased to announce this year's Spira award winners. The awards reflect the fact that the teaching function of the Mathematics Department serves different groups of students.

  • Jim McClure — Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Kenji Matsuki — Excellence in Undergraduate Service Teaching
  • Nicola Garofalo — Excellence in Graduate Level Teaching
  • Allen Weitsman — Excellence in Graduate Service Teaching

Department of Mathematics, Purdue University, 150 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2067

Phone: (765) 494-1901 - FAX: (765) 494-0548  Contact Us

© 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.

Maintained by Science IT