MA 16020 - Applied Calculus II, Sections 0035 and 0047, Spring 2018

Important Information

  • Course webpage: MA 16020 - Applied Calculus II
  • My email: price79@purdue.edu
  • My office hours: Mondays, 11:30 am - 1:30 pm, in the Math Resource Room (MATH 205/211), or by appointment
  • You may go to the Math Resource Room any time that it is open.
  • You may also ask homework/math questions on Piazza.
  • General Weekend Availability: I will (usually) be in my office (MATH 645) 10 am - noon on Saturdays and 1 pm - 4 pm on Sundays. You are welcome to stop by and talk about math, life, etc.

Lecture Notes

Notice: These lecture notes may contain errors. I strive to have accurate lecture notes, but sometimes I make mistakes in my computations. The main ideas should be conveyed correctly. If you find an error, please email me so I can correct it.

Quizzes and Solutions
Quiz solutions will be posted after the quizzes are graded.

Quiz Dates
  • Quiz 1 - Lessons R and 1 - Friday, January 12
  • Quiz 2 - Lesson 2 - Wednesday, January 17
  • Quiz 3 - Lessons 3 and 4 - Monday, January 22
  • Quiz 4 - Lesson 6 - Friday, January 26
  • In class survey (not a quiz) - how is the class going? - Wednesday, January 31
  • Quiz 5 - Lessons 7 and 8 - Friday, February 2
  • Quiz 6 - Lessons 9 and 10 - Friday, February 9
  • Quiz 7 - Lessons 12, 13, and 14 - Friday, February 16
  • Quiz 8 - Lessons 15 and 16 - Friday, February 23
  • Quiz 9 - Lesson 17 - Monday, February 26
  • Quiz 10 - Lessons 18 and 19 - Friday, March 2
  • In class survey (not a quiz) - how is the class going? - Wednesday, March 7
  • Quiz 11 - Lesson 21 - Friday, March 9
  • Quiz 12 - Lesson 23 - Wednesday, March 21
  • Quiz 13 - Lessons 25 and 26 - Friday, March 30
  • Quiz 14 - Lesson 27 - Monday, April 2
  • Quiz 15 - Lessons 29 and 30 - Monday, April 9
  • Quiz 16 - Lessons 32 and 33 - Wednesday, April 18

Student Comments and My Responses

Useful Facts
  • If you need grade checks (a signed form for athletics or some other organization), please email me and set up a time outside of class for me to check on your grade and fill out the form. I will not fill out the form if you just hand it to me before or after class.
  • Per course policy, we do not review homework questions during class. If you would like help with a homework question, check Piazza or contact me by email.
  • As tempting as it might be, do not use any calculator other than a one-line calculator on the homework. Do not use a computer algebra system (such as WolframAlpha) either. Almost all exam questions are taken directly from the homework, and on the exam, you will not be able to use these tools. You will be unprepared for the exams (in which you have an average of 5 minutes per problem) if you cheat yourself on doing the homework. If you understand how to do the homework correctly and efficiently with only a one-line calculator, you will be successful in this course.
  • Make sure you understand how to use your calculator effectively. Understanding how to use your calculator's memory will save time and reduce errors.